Someone Els

A couple of years ago I was chatting away with a model/friend (or friend/model) and inevitably we came to the subject “Who’s your favorite photographer”.
As expected, the “all time classics” and a lot of “big names” were keyed in, but also some great local (Belgian) photographers sprung to mind.
One of those names -at that time unknown to me- was that of Els Vanopstal, a young female photographer based in the Brussels area.
As per my model/friend every self-respecting model should at least have one “Els Vanopstal” in his/her portfolio.
A bold statement, so I decided to open up my browser and head over to Els’ site.
After seeing the first couple of images I immediately fell in love with the way Els portrayes her subjects.

Now, about 3 or 4 years later, Els is still one of my favorite Belgian photographers and I still enjoy looking at her work.

When she recently posted on facebook that the cherry blossoms near her place where at their best, I asked if I could come over and take her photograph.  Needless to say I was thrilled (and scared shit less) when she agreed.

Enjoy the pictures and make sure to check out Els’ work on :
http://www.elsvanopstal.com/
http://blog.elsvanopstal.com/

_010

_1130086-BW-FB

_030

_040

_050

_060

Meet Louise, Els’s guard dog and best friend.

_070

Leave a Reply

